Thermostat -- stuck open? Any damage?

pow

The CEL has occasionally been going on and off, and I finally went to Autozone and had the OBDII scanned. I got "coolant temperature below thermostat regulating temperature", which probably means a thermostat that's stuck open. I've been noticing that the temp gauge needle being suspiciously low.

It's been like that for a while... so my question is, was there any damage caused by having a thermostat stuck open?

Not really any damage caused but I would replace it soon, most of the time they fail closed and cause overheating and possible engine damage. Thats why I always run on them failsafe thermostats that fail open since I've had some bad overheating experiences due to a thermostat failing.

Edited by Buickfosure

One other thing to think about before replacing the thermostat, that code could possibly mean a malfuctioning coolent temp sensor as well so I would look furthur into it or take it to a shop if you don't feel like wasting time and money replacing the thermostat only to find out it was just the coolent temp sensor all along.

One other thing to think about before replacing the thermostat, that code could possibly mean a malfuctioning coolent temp sensor as well so I would look furthur into it or take it to a shop if you don't feel like wasting time and money replacing the thermostat only to find out it was just the coolent temp sensor all along.

Hm, that seems very possible, too. But the gauge still appears to work... the needle just takes longer than usual to reach the middle. Or could that happen and still be misfunctioning?

I was thinking that too..

I would try replacing the thermostat first. Then see what happens. My parents Equinox did this and it was the thermostat. Dad had noticed it didnt seem to heat as well as normal.

empowah

But the gauge still appears to work... the needle just takes longer than usual to reach the middle. Or could that happen and still be misfunctioning?